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STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN SUPREME COURT

C9-81-1206

PROMULGATION OF AMENDMENTS TO .
THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ORDER
FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

WHEREAS, the Joint Legal Services Access and Funding Committee filed a petition
with this Court that recommended amendments to Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court
for Registration of Attorneys, and

WHEREAS, the Sﬁpreme Court held a hearing on the proposed amendments on
January 21, 1997, and |

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has reviewed the recommendations and is fully advised
in the premises,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys is amended as
follows:
RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission

to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants

for such admission, with exception hereafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to
practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be
admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereinafter annually pay to
the clerk of the appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of -One-Hundred-Fifty-
sevenrDottars($1+57-66) Two Hundred and Seven Dollars ($207.00) or in such lesser

sum as the court may annually hereafter determine.
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Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January,
April, July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate
courts.

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows:

$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

$110.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

$20.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund

B. The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of
—Fifty-one-PoHars($51-66) One Hundred and One Dollars ($101.00):
(a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of

Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state;




D. Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or

permanently disabled, or who files annually with the clerk of the appellate

courts an affidavit that he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the




practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in
good standing. An attorney claiming retired or permanently disabled status who
subsequently resumes active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such
change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual

registration fee.

disabled, who no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files
annually with the clerk of the appellate courts that he or she is so retired or
disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt
category and shall remain in good standing. A judge claiming retired or
permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes service on the bench or
the active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with

the clerk of the appeliate courts and pay the annual registration fee.
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The increase in attorney registration fees shall be effective for licenses

on July 1, 1997, and for new licenses issued on or after July 1, 1997.

DATED: February 5, 1997

BY THE COURT:
/T
APPELLATE COURTS
A .M. Keith
FEB 6 1997 Chief Justice
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